Skip to main content

Wildcard by Marie Lu Review


39508596
This book was one of my most anticipated reads for the second half of 2018,  and it had a slow start for about the first 150 pages, but after that everything picked up. I enjoyed the second half, with was filled with plot twists, action and Emika with Hideo.

The plot twists in this book were written extremely well and Marie Lu did an amazing job of not letting you anywhere was going to happen next until it already has.

I have to admit, I had forgotten some of the characters names and who they were, which made the book confusing with the Phoenix Riders and the new people we were introduced to. When were introduced to everyone in the Blackcoats, it was a lot too take in, a little bit too much. It would've made more sense reading this book immediately after reading Warcross, and would've kept me more interested in the story.

Sasuke and the flashbacks were a crucial part to actually having feelings for this character we just met. I thought the flashbacks were heartbreaking and really put emotion in 'Zero'. 

Finding out Zero was not really a person was a punch to the gut for me, and I kept hoping it wasn't true and that Jax was just trying to toy with Emika's mind.

One problem was when Tremaine was supposedly 'killed', somehow I knew he wasn't dead. I guess since he was 'killed' off to fast as soon as you got to know him as a character.

Overall, I enjoyed this sequel, I think I would've enjoyed it more if there hadn't been so much time in between reading Warcross and Wildcard.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Two Can Keep a Secret Blog Tour Review + Giveaway!

Full Two Can Keep a Secret Blog Tour Schedule ....................................................................................................................................................
About the Book:
Title: TWO CAN KEEP A SECRET 
Author: Karen McManus Pub. Date: January 8, 2019 Publisher: Delacorte Press Formats: Hardcover, eBook, Audiobook Pages: 336 Find it:GoodreadsAmazonAudible,  B&NiBooksTBD
Echo Ridge is small-town America. Ellery's never been there, but she's heard all about it. Her aunt went missing there at age seventeen. And only five years ago, a homecoming queen put the town on the map when she was killed. Now Ellery has to move there to live with a grandmother she barely knows.
The town is picture-perfect, but it's hiding secrets. And before school even begins for Ellery, someone's declared open season on homecoming, promising to make it as dangerous as it was five years ago. Then, almost as if to prove it, another girl goes missing.

Ellery know…

Lady Smoke ARC Review Blog Tour + Giveaway!!

View the full blog tour schedule here!
About the Book:
Title: LADY SMOKE (Ash Princess Trilogy #2) Author: Laura Sebastian Pub. Date: February 5, 2019 Publisher: Delacorte Press Formats: Hardcover, eBook, Audiobook Pages: 512 Find it:GoodreadsAmazonAudible,  B&NiBooksTBD
The sequel to the instant New York Times bestseller that was "made for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sabaa Tahir" ( Bustle ), Lady Smoke is an epic new fantasy about a throne cruelly stolen and a girl who must fight to take it back for her people. 
The Kaiser murdered Theodosia's mother, the Fire Queen, when Theo was only six. He took Theo's country and kept her prisoner, crowning her Ash Princess--a pet to toy with and humiliate for ten long years. That era has ended. The Kaiser thought his prisoner weak and defenseless. He didn't realize that a sharp mind is the deadliest weapon.
Theo no longer wears a crown of ashes. She has taken back her rightful title, and a hostage--Prinz Soren. But her pe…

January 2019 TBR

Evermore by Sara Holland
...................................................................................................................................................




The Wicked King by Holly Black

...................................................................................................................................................



King of Scars by Leigh Bardugo

...................................................................................................................................................


Famous in a Small Town by Emma Mills ...................................................................................................................................................

Stain by A.G. Howard ...................................................................................................................................................



Lady Smoke by Laura Sebastian

...............................................................................................…