Skip to main content

Dumplin' Movie Review

Image result for dumplin

 .........................................................................................................

I read Dumplin' in June of 2018, and honestly I just liked Millie and Bo, so I was interested to see those two. 

The main plot seemed to movie just a little too fast, I wanted there to be more of the girls getting ready and encouraging one another more.

I felt like Willowdean was just plain rude to Millie in some the scenes, especially how she said at the beginning, about how at least she wasn't clueless like Millie, who apparently didn't know she was fat. She judges others and then tells people to not judge her for being fat, it's kind of a double standard. She judges other girls for being skinny, when that is their choice, not all girls that are skinny are rude and they don't deserved to body shamed, that goes for all of the girls in this book.

Ellen and Willowdean's falling out only lasted a day, which if I remember correctly, it was a little longer in the book then just a day. Another reason they had that big argument was because Ellen and Callie had been hanging out more. Ellen had told secrets to Callie before she even told Willowdean.  

As much as I enjoyed the movie, I was really disappointed at the lack of Bo and Willowdean together as a couple in the movie. In the book, they were together a lot more then just every few chapters/scenes.

Overall, it was a disappointing movie, fun but it didn't do a very good job as handling the serious conversations and situations.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Two Can Keep a Secret Blog Tour Review + Giveaway!

Full Two Can Keep a Secret Blog Tour Schedule ....................................................................................................................................................
About the Book:
Title: TWO CAN KEEP A SECRET 
Author: Karen McManus Pub. Date: January 8, 2019 Publisher: Delacorte Press Formats: Hardcover, eBook, Audiobook Pages: 336 Find it:GoodreadsAmazonAudible,  B&NiBooksTBD
Echo Ridge is small-town America. Ellery's never been there, but she's heard all about it. Her aunt went missing there at age seventeen. And only five years ago, a homecoming queen put the town on the map when she was killed. Now Ellery has to move there to live with a grandmother she barely knows.
The town is picture-perfect, but it's hiding secrets. And before school even begins for Ellery, someone's declared open season on homecoming, promising to make it as dangerous as it was five years ago. Then, almost as if to prove it, another girl goes missing.

Ellery know…

Lady Smoke ARC Review Blog Tour + Giveaway!!

View the full blog tour schedule here!
About the Book:
Title: LADY SMOKE (Ash Princess Trilogy #2) Author: Laura Sebastian Pub. Date: February 5, 2019 Publisher: Delacorte Press Formats: Hardcover, eBook, Audiobook Pages: 512 Find it:GoodreadsAmazonAudible,  B&NiBooksTBD
The sequel to the instant New York Times bestseller that was "made for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sabaa Tahir" ( Bustle ), Lady Smoke is an epic new fantasy about a throne cruelly stolen and a girl who must fight to take it back for her people. 
The Kaiser murdered Theodosia's mother, the Fire Queen, when Theo was only six. He took Theo's country and kept her prisoner, crowning her Ash Princess--a pet to toy with and humiliate for ten long years. That era has ended. The Kaiser thought his prisoner weak and defenseless. He didn't realize that a sharp mind is the deadliest weapon.
Theo no longer wears a crown of ashes. She has taken back her rightful title, and a hostage--Prinz Soren. But her pe…

January 2019 TBR

Evermore by Sara Holland
...................................................................................................................................................




The Wicked King by Holly Black

...................................................................................................................................................



King of Scars by Leigh Bardugo

...................................................................................................................................................


Famous in a Small Town by Emma Mills ...................................................................................................................................................

Stain by A.G. Howard ...................................................................................................................................................



Lady Smoke by Laura Sebastian

...............................................................................................…