Skip to main content

Tiger Queen by Annie Sullivan Review Blog Tour + Giveaway!!

.............................................................................................................................................

42281646. sy475

Publisher: Blink
Release date: September 10th 
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retelling, Romance
From Annie Sullivan, author of A Touch of Gold, comes Tiger Queen, a sweeping YA fantasy adventure that tells the story of a fierce desert princess battling to save her kingdom. Fans of Rebel of the Sands and Meagan Spooner will devour this retelling of Frank Stockton’s famous short story, “The Lady, or the Tiger?”

In the mythical desert kingdom of Achra, an ancient law forces sixteen-year-old Princess Kateri to fight in the arena to prove her right to rule. For Kateri, winning also means fulfilling a promise to her late mother that she would protect her people, who are struggling through windstorms and drought. The situation is worsened by the gang of Desert Boys that frequently raids the city wells, forcing the king to ration what little water is left. The punishment for stealing water is a choice between two doors: behind one lies freedom, and behind the other is a tiger.

But when Kateri’s final opponent is announced, she knows she cannot win. In desperation, she turns to the desert and the one person she never thought she’d side with. What Kateri discovers twists her world—and her heart—upside down. Her future is now behind two doors—only she’s not sure which holds the key to keeping her kingdom and which releases the tiger.


...........................................................................................................................................


About the author
Annie Sullivan is a Young Adult author from Indianapolis, Indiana. Her work has been featured in Curly Red Stories and Punchnels. She loves fairytales, everything Jane Austen and traveling and exploring new cultures. When she's not off on her own adventures, she's teaching classes at the Indiana Writers Center and working as the Copy Specialist at John Wiley and Sons, Inc. publishing company, having also worked there in Editorial and Publicity roles. You can follow her adventures on Twitter and Instagram (@annsulliva).

............................................................................................................................................

This book was just such a fun and exciting read. It give me slight Aladdin vibes and it just worked so well! 
I devoured this book is less then two days and after I finished, I was immediately sad it was over.

I loved how powerful and independent our main character, Kateri, was, and how she handled herself around everyone at the palace.

It's not often that you read a book set in a desert, and it's probably because it's not very descriptive to write just about a desert, but Sullivan pulled it off beautifully and somehow managed to describe every detail of the desert and the people in it.

Sullivan's writing definitely has a magical feel to it, every sentence plays a small, yet important part of the story and it kept me intrigued. 

Overall, this book was a pleasure to read and I feel so incredibly honored to a part of this blog tour for this amazing book. I can't wait to see what Sullivan writes next.

............................................................................................................................................

Thanks for reading! Be sure to check out the other posts 
on this blog tour and the giveaway below!







Comments

Popular posts from this blog

January 2019 TBR

Evermore by Sara Holland
...................................................................................................................................................




The Wicked King by Holly Black

...................................................................................................................................................



King of Scars by Leigh Bardugo

...................................................................................................................................................


Famous in a Small Town by Emma Mills ...................................................................................................................................................

Stain by A.G. Howard ...................................................................................................................................................



Lady Smoke by Laura Sebastian

...............................................................................................…

April Wrap-up

Sadly, April was a weird month for books. I read one 4 star read, but the rest of the books were 3 stars or lower. 


....................................................................................................................................................
Wicked Saints by Emily Duncan Right after I finished this book, I immediately rated in 4 stars, but after some thinking I lowered it to 3 stars. This was one of those books that I really thought I would love, and I did enjoy the book, but I just didn't seem to be excited to read it as I am with other books. Overall, I liked this book, I just wished it'd been more of an interesting read.
....................................................................................................................................................
Heroine by Mindy McGinnis This book was a hard book to read, and I guess that's what the author was going for, but it just was never ending. I wish it hadn't started out the way i…

All Our Broken Pieces by L.D. Crichton Spotlight Post/Blog Tour + Giveaway!!

....................................................................................................................................................
All Our Broken Pieces by L.D. Crichton


Pub. Date: May 7, 2019 Publisher: Disney-Hyperion Formats: Hardcover, eBook Pages: 416 Find it:GoodreadsAmazonKindleB&NiBooksKobo